Fame Versus Infamy

We’ve all seen those people on the internet, desperately grasping for fifteen minutes of fame, who we all think are complete knobs. From the thousands of examples posted daily of people doing dumb dares and challenges, to the kid in Australia who’s in trouble for jumping out of a moving bus, to that stupid tampon girl; people don’t seem to realize the difference between fame and infamy.

Image

Image

(Dictionary.com)

I provided some definitions for you since I really doubt some people even know what infamy is. I realized this when I was gagging to death watching that tampon girl video. People don’t understand the difference and are trying to become famous through the most detestable ways. Maybe these people don’t care if they are offensive as long they are well-known. That’s fine, but there are some people who seem to care about their reputation but aren’t doing a very good job maintaining it.

We all know politicians say stupid things all the time. Whether it’s about rape, poverty, or health care; they don’t think before they speak. It’s shocking, sometimes funny; but when I heard this:

“We have got this tailspin of culture, in our inner cities in particular, of men not working and just generations of men not even thinking about working or learning to value the culture of work, so there is a real culture problem here that has to be dealt with.” -Paul Ryan

I’m not even shocked anymore. Two years ago, I didn’t know who this guy was. Now, he is infamous to me for saying the stupidest, career killing, opinions I have every heard. He may be infamous to you, as well. Though, I’m a twenty year old who pays attention to politics, there’s a good chance I’m just weird.

When I first read this, my first thought was how racist this is. Obviously I’m not alone since that’s all anyone’s saying on the major news networks. Even his peers are calling it as they see it.

The thing is, if we leave the inner cities part out, it’s an acceptable opinion. Still not really correct in anyway, but he’s a republican so I’m grasping at straws.

The real reason I’m pissed, is the fact that if you look past the racism, it’s derogatory to indigent people! I’m poor myself, I come from a poor family, they came from a poor family. I’m so broke it isn’t even funny. I would love to have a job right now. I apply to every job that pops into my area, I make an effort. Still, no job. Maybe, instead of claiming it’s culture, you should work on making more jobs. Making it easier to get into trade schools or community colleges. Help people get a profession. Anyone can flip burgers, run a cash register at Walmart, or work in your coal mine, Ryan, but there will never be enough of those jobs for everyone.

Plus, this is 21st century, not the 19th; we don’t follow social Darwinism anymore. Or at least if you do, we all accept you’re a knob. We have accepted that there is more to getting ahead in life than slaving away at a job. Some find a niche and run with it. That’s a gamble if you’ll become rich and famous. Others are less creative and work for the rest of their lives. Either way, we need people to do every job on the social ladder. Except maybe congressmen, they seem fairly useless as of late.

So, how long will it take for someone to get killed? How many careers will be ruined before we learn the difference between fame and infamy?

For more of the stupid crap this man has spouted I direct you here: http://tinyurl.com/qyfoczs

For those who don’t know about social Darwinism, here’s the wikipedia article for you – http://tinyurl.com/qqqzm

Leave a comment