Facebook

Well, this is my first post so let’s get to the heart of why I’m here. I’m an opinionated asshole, but I’m an informed asshole.

I like giving my views on things, I love debating, and a lot of my friends live far away. So, natural, social media would be the perfect place for that.

Nope!

Facebook has degraded into a page of pictures. Text is dead it would seem. Now, I don’t blame Facebook at all. They couldn’t have planned this but they did help it along. Likes, shares, and comments have made it so pictures will likely get more views than text. Not only are pictures bigger, the color itself draws the eye to it. This was alright when it was pictures of my nephew as a baby spamming my wall. Those are personal. I’m talking about the generic internet picture. Memes, cats, rage comics; they are everywhere.

Let me tell you how my newsfeed looks right now. Fifteen minutes ago, I posted about this blog coming online. Now, let’s see if we can find it. Now this is after I changed it to “Most Recent” under the “Sort These” button. The default is “Top Stories” A.K.A. popular shit.

fb1

fb2

Fb3

There I am! Now, this is my fault as well. I listen to the Pretty Reckless I want their posts. APlaceToLoveDogs? I don’t remember, but it’s still there. King5 is my local news station of choice. Fionna The Human, I like Adventure Time. I chose to have these things there. They don’t just appear.My point is that text is dying. Look at the first post. It’s a picture of text! What is this?

Maybe we should slow down and read what our friends post. I try. I know it get’s lost in this sea of cats, but we should try it when It comes up. Otherwise, we’ll all just be illiterate shitheads.

2 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. Yes! This is just what iss was loking for. Have been looking around for a time now,
    andd finally I came across this. Thanks a great deal for creating this websute post.
    You really did a fantastic job here with your website.
    I’ll keep following thjis website.

    • Thanks a lot but I’m not sure why you’re gushing so much. To date I have one post, and the theme is a default through wordpress. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the blog as it comes along.

Leave a comment